Permissions
Users require specific permissions in SFMC to be able to use all functionalities in Unaric Segment.
How it works
Permissions are granted for Automation Studio and Email Studio:
- The permissions related to Automation Studio are needed for Unaric Segment to be able to create and run the Query Activities that contains the SQL queries that Unaric Segment builds in the backend.
- The permissions related to Email Studio are needed for Unaric Segment to create and read different types of Data Extensions.
We suggest creating a role with the required permissions and assigning this role to Unaric Segmentusers.
Grant permissions
- In Salesforce Marketing Cloud, navigate to Setup > Administration > Users > Roles.
- Click Create.
- Under Name, enter DESelect User.
- Assign the following permissions:
- Automation Studio
- Automation: Execute (API).
- Subscribers (Subscriber): Create, View, Update.
- Data Extension: Create, View, Update, Delete, Manage Data, Manage Data Retention, Transfer Ownership, Export, Export to Desktop.
Data Extension Delete: It is recommended to disable this for Standard and Marketing Users to prevent them from deleting Data Extensions. In case a user who has this permission disabled tries to delete a DE, they will see an API permission failed error.
- Salesforce Data Extension: Create, View, Update, Delete, Manage Data, Manage Data Retention, Transfer Ownership, Clear Data, Import, Export, Export to Desktop.
- Interactions (Activities > Query): Create, View, Update, Delete, Start.
Query Delete: It is recommended to disable this for Deselect Users to prevent them from deleting query activities. Standard Marketing Users and Test Users should instead move selections to Archived Selections. In case a user who has this permission disabled tries to delete a Query Activity in Unaric Segment, they will see an API permission failed error.
- Shared Folders (Shared Data Extension Folders): View, Move, Delete, Rename, Create Sub Folder, Share.
Shared Data Extension Folders Delete: It is recommended to disable this for DESelect Users to prevent them from accessing Shared Data Extensions. In case a user who has this permission disabled tries to access a Shared Data Extension, they will not be able to see it.
- Shared Salesforce Data Extension Folders: View, Move, Delete, Rename, Create Sub Folder, Share.
While assigning the users with the DESelect User role, make sure they do not have permissions from other roles that overwrite the DESelect User permissions. In such a case, a user with conflicting permissions might get an 'API Permission Failed' error.