---
title: Permissions
slug: segment/permissions
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-06-03T21:52:49.200Z
---

Users require specific permissions in SFMC to be able to use all functionalities in Unaric Segment.&#x20;

## How it works

Permissions are granted for **Automation Studio** and **Email Studio**:

- The permissions related to **Automation Studio** are needed for Unaric Segment to be able to create and run the Query Activities that contains the SQL queries that Unaric Segment builds in the backend.
- The permissions related to **Email Studio&#x20;**&#x61;re needed for Unaric Segment to create and read different types of Data Extensions.

We suggest creating a role with the required permissions and assigning this role to Unaric Segmentusers.

## Grant permissions

1. In Salesforce Marketing Cloud, navigate to **Setup > Administration > Users > Roles.**
2. Click **Create.**
3. Under **Name**, enter *DESelect User.*
4. Assign the following permissions:
   - **Automation Studio**
     - **Automation:** Execute (API).
   - **Email**
     - **Subscribers (Subscriber):** *Create, View, Update.*
     - **Data Extension:** *Create, View, Update, Delete, Manage Data, Manage Data Retention, Transfer Ownership, Export, Export to Desktop.*

       :::hint{type="warning"}
       **Data Extension&#x20;*****Delete*****:** It is recommended to disable this for Standard and Marketing Users to prevent them from deleting Data Extensions. In case a user who has this permission disabled tries to delete a DE, they will see an API permission failed error.
       :::
     - **Salesforce Data Extension:** *Create, View, Update, Delete, Manage Data, Manage Data Retention, Transfer Ownership, Clear Data, Import, Export, Export to Desktop.*
     - **Interactions (Activities > Query):** *Create, View, Update, Delete, Start.*

       :::hint{type="warning"}
       **Query&#x20;*****Delete*****:** It is recommended to disable this for *Deselect Users* to prevent them from deleting query activities. Standard Marketing Users and Test Users should instead move selections to Archived Selections. In case a user who has this permission disabled tries to delete a Query Activity in Unaric Segment, they will see an API permission failed error.
       :::
     - **Shared Folders (Shared Data Extension Folders):** *View, Move, Delete, Rename, Create Sub Folder, Share.*

       :::hint{type="warning"}
       **Shared Data Extension Folders&#x20;*****Delete*****:** It is recommended to disable this for DESelect Users to prevent them from accessing Shared Data Extensions. In case a user who has this permission disabled tries to access a Shared Data Extension, they will not be able to see it.
       :::
     - **Shared Salesforce Data Extension Folders:** *View, Move, Delete, Rename, Create Sub Folder, Share.*

:::hint{type="warning"}
While assigning the users with the DESelect User role, make sure they do not have permissions from other roles that overwrite the DESelect User permissions. In such a case, a user with conflicting permissions might get an 'API Permission Failed' error.
:::

